movies, readers forum

Ho Ho Ho: The Sixth Voreblog Readers Forum

eddie

“Oh, the silent majesty of a winter’s morn… The clean, cool chill of the holiday air… Uncle Eddie in his bathrobe, emptying a chemical toilet into my sewer.”

 

Like many good people across the nation, part of our spiritual preparation for the event that is Christmas is the time-honored tradition of watching National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. Nothing says it’s holiday time like Snot hacking on a bone underneath the table at the Griswold Christmas dinner. While we could simply spend the rest of this post repeating lines from the movie (“It’s not going in the yard, Russ. It’s going in the living room”; “Can I refill your eggnog for you? Get you something to eat? Drive you out to the middle of nowhere and leave you for dead?”), we’ll cut straight to the chase for the Sixth Voreblog Readers Forum: What’s your favorite Christmas movie?

16 thoughts on “Ho Ho Ho: The Sixth Voreblog Readers Forum

  1. First and foremost, White Christmas, then It’s a Wonderful Life (and I cry every time I watch it), Christmas Vacation is up there too as well as A Christmas Story.
    I suppose that’s not one movie, is it?

    all I can think of when I see that photo is, “sh*tter’s full”)

  2. I lose it every time I see Eddie walk into the living room wearing a white sweater with a black dickie underneath it. I had never really noticed it until Emily pointed it out and now I think it’s the funniest part in the movie.

    I know Supertroopers isn’t a Christmas movie, but we were bored so we watched it last night. Farva makes me giggle so hard that I occasionally dribble tinkle in my pants. “I just lost a buck…to myself.”

    Finally, my all-time favorite scene in a Christmas movie is when Patrick Bateman is nailing the hooker and flexing in the mirror. You can feel the Christmas cheer right through the screen.

  3. When we were watching Christmas Vacation last night, Erin said during the white sweater/black dickie scene, “You know, this is Andy’s favorite scene in the movie.”

  4. “Oh Aunt Bethany, you shouldn’t have done that.”

    “Oh dear, did I break wind?”

    “Did the room clear out, Bethany? She means presents.”

  5. Six times the normal amount of mercury!

    So let’s see what we’ve got so far: White Christmas, It’s a Wonderful Life, Christmas Vacation, A Christmas Story, Trading Places, Home Alone, The Santa Clause, Super Troopers, American Psycho, Trapped in Paradise, Die Hard and Rocky IV.

    Impressive. This is an eclectic crew.

    But no Elf? No Scrooged? No Emmet Otter’s Jug Band Christmas?

Leave a Reply

